Archive for March 14th, 2008

Well the new season is now underway.

Current World champion Raikkonen set the fastest time in the morning session.
But Hamilton was on top in the afternoon, with Raikkonen sixth.
Ferrari’s Felipe Massa was third in both sessions, with Fernando Alonso sixth and 13th in his Renault. And Hamilton’s team-mate Heikki Kovalainen was fourth fastest in both sessions.

Australian Mark Webber was second fastest in the afternoon session and fifth fastest in the morning, while team mate Coulthard was fifth fastest in the afternoon.

Hamilton said: “It’s great to be back racing and being here in Melbourne where I started my Formula 1 career only a year ago.
“It’s always a special feeling to go out of the garage for the first time in practice at the start of a new season.
“There was some good progress with the car, and we made the best use of the ever-improving track conditions.
“Ferrari look strong, but it’s still too early to tell exactly where we are in comparison. All in all, a good start to the Australian Grand Prix and the season.”

Jenson Button was 11th fastest in both sessions, which suprised a few people, as their winter test times were a lot worse than this.
The struggling team said they had continued progress from an encouraging final test of the winter at the Spanish Jerez track two weeks ago, when they introduced new parts to improve the car’s aerodynamics.
Button said “It has been a good day for us, We focused mainly on tyre work and getting the best out of the car in the very hot conditions. Everything went smoothly and the car feels much as it did at the Jerez test, which is pleasing.”

 Final Times For Friday

Pos Driver Team Time Diff  Laps
1. L. Hamilton McLaren 1:26.559   33
2. M. Webber Red Bull 1:27.473 +0.914 27
3. F. Massa Ferrari 1:27.640 +1.081 29
4. H. Kovalainen McLaren 1:27.683 +1.124 29
5. D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:28.037 +1.478 26
6. K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:28.208 +1.649 28
7. J. Trulli Toyota 1:28.292 +1.733 22
8. N. Rosberg Williams 1:28.352 +1.793 31
9. G. Fisichella Force India 1:28.469 +1.910 32
10. T. Glock Toyota 1:28.582 +2.023 28
11. J. Button Honda 1:28.632 +2.073 30
12. N. Heidfeld BMW Sauber 1:28.731 +2.172 33
13. F. Alonso Renault 1:28.779 +2.220 37
14. R. Barrichello Honda 1:28.849 +2.290 28
15. R. Kubica BMW Sauber 1:28.860 +2.301 35
16. K. Nakajima Williams 1:29.077 +2.518 33
17. A. Sutil Force India 1:29.161 +2.602 32
18. S. Vettel Toro Rosso 1:29.193 +2.634 40
19. N. Piquet Jr. Renault 1:29.518 +2.959 14
20. S. Bourdais Toro Rosso 1:29.605 +3.046 11
21. T. Sato Super Aguri 1:30.663 +4.104 16
22. A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:31.527 +4.968 8

Read Full Post »